2019 OneJax Humanitarian Nominations Open

The OneJax Institute at the University of North Florida is now accepting nominations for the 2019 Humanitarian Awards, which will be presented at a celebration dinner April 11, 2019. Since 1970, these prestigious awards have been the Jacksonville community’s way of honoring those who have given generously of themselves and have exhibited the highest personal and professional integrity.

“The input we receive from the community is critical to the selection process,” said Nancy Broner, executive director of OneJax. “The nominations shine a light on the potential Humanitarian Award candidates— deserving people who might not otherwise be recognized for their contributions.”

Nominations are reviewed by a committee of OneJax board members as well as former honorees and are based upon the following criteria: a history of community service through long-term involvement in civic, religious, nonprofit or professional/business organizations, dedication to the improvement of human relations among diverse groups in the Jacksonville area, impeccable personal and professional integrity, sustained commitment to humanitarian ideals, history of placing humanitarian concerns above self-interest and realistic humility about their importance in the world.

There are two award categories open for nominations. The Silver Medallion honors those who have demonstrated an unwavering commitment to our community. The Dr. Gaston Acosta-Rua Young Professionals Award, named for a founding NCCJ Board (predecessor OneJax organization) member and Silver Medallion honoree who dedicated his lifetime to upholding the values of the organization, recognizes a young professional who is strengthening the community through their time, talent and treasure.

Nominations must be submitted on the official nomination form available via the website. The form, along with a written statement detailing how the nominee meets the criteria, must be submitted by 5 p.m. Friday, Sept. 28. Any individual or group may submit a nomination of an individual they think worthy of being named a OneJax Humanitarian.

The 2019 Awards Dinner will mark the 48th year that people making a difference in the community have been honored. Previous honorees include Preston Haskell, Bob Shircliff, Madeline Scales Taylor, Audrey Moran, Frieda Saraga, Hugh Greene, Susan Greene, Rodney L. Hurst Sr., Dr. Parvez Ahmed, Laurie DuBow, Darnell Smith and many others.

Since 2012, OneJax has been an Institute of the University of North Florida. Through education, community building and advocacy, OneJax Institute works to make Northeast Florida a better place for everyone by celebrating differences and identifying all we have in common. For more information, visit the OneJax website or call (904) 620-1JAX.